Should we try to clean the birds?

June 14, 2010

I just read this article and I’m not sure what to think about trying to clean BP oil spill-affected birds. I guess we have to, for the few that might make it.

When we were on vacation, I read in a newspaper about how people are placing wagers on which species will be the first to go extinct because of BP’s oil spill and failed containment efforts. Some people were betting on Kemp’s Ridley Turtles, others on Bluefin Tuna.

Turtle extinctions
Information on Bluefin Tuna

The whole concept of betting on extinctions makes me sick. It’s so morally reprehensible. Is this a sign of our times?

One Response to “Should we try to clean the birds?”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I think part of it is that it’s easier to make light of what’s happening than to feel helpless about it. At least betting on it is accepting that awful things are happening that the ordinary person can’t do a lot about. But mostly I know I feel angry and powerless and so I don’t try to think about it. Which is also sad.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.