I’m counting my blessings

January 24, 2008

It’s been eons since I last posted. Pesky old work keeps getting in the way. I guess it’s good. More work means more sock yarn. Although, I do have enough sock yarn to keep me busy for many a long winter’s night.

This week I got a message from one of the Random Acts of Kindness winners. She had been slow to contact me about the prize she won–but I’ll let her tell her story in her own words:
I am so sorry I didn’t get back to you earlier, but I just today saw this email. I was in a pretty horrific car accident on the 5th of January, and was in the hospital until about a week ago. Today was the first time I’ve been able to sit at the computer for any length of time. It was an incredible miracle that my son and I survived the crash, as the car flipped over a guardrail (and continued to do so for about 200 feet) after I swerved to avoid a truck that pulled out in front of us. My son had a scrape above his right eye and a bit of a shiner, but was otherwise unhurt. Our dear, beloved doggie, Lucy, a wonderful Beagle friend, did not survive the accident.

I am left-handed and both of the bones in my left arm came through my wrist in different places. One was miraculously unbroken and the other was essentially crushed. It seems that my arm flew out the window as the car was flipping (there was grass and dirt inside the bone). I have had one surgery so far (with pins and an external metal rod to hold everything in the right place) and I’ll need a bone graft in a few weeks’ time. We are hoping that one more surgery will do it, but it could be as many as 4. The doctor has said that it could be anywhere from 9 months to a year for me to regain use of the arm, but I am starting physical therapy in a week to get a head start on that.

As a knitter, I know what you’re wondering: “Yes, but can you KNIT?!!!” Well, I started brainstorming different ideas from day one. My dad has made a trip to Home Depot and bought some clamps and things for me to try. I actually have been able to knit a few stitches (very sloppy ones, but that hardly matters). I literally dream of being able to knit normally again. Knitting is like medicine for my soul, so I know I’ll find a way. Sooner rather than later, I hope. Of course, with the medical expenses, I guess I’ll be stash-diving for a long, long time.

Wow! Sometimes I forget to stop and count my blessings.

Leave a Reply

