Jinxed

March 3, 2008

Could it be that this pair of socks is jinxed?

The Knittery Cashmere Merino

Don’t you just love the colors of The Knittery yarn? It is so soft! It’s really a lovely yarn to work with.

Perhaps Chris in Germany has it right, I am not supposed to knit with this yarn now; instead, I am supposed to be knitting the Boyfriend Socks. She suggests this because she knitted a pair with yarn I sent her. They are lovely! I have the same yarn in my stash and wouldn’t it be fun to have a pair for me too!

But, I was dragging my feet because the cables scare me! Instead, I thought, a nice quick lace pair first. If you’ve read prior posts, you saw that I struggled with Anne Hanson’s pattern. Then I thought, OK, a top down with something less than 60 stitches would be better. I took the lace cuff from Evelyn Clark’s Girlfriend Socks, added an extra knit between repeats to make it a 7-stitch pattern, then transitioned into a 14-stitch repeat lace pattern from a sweater I liked. I eliminated the knit row between pattern rows to make the lace more compressed. I just liked the way it looked.

So far, so good. But, I took it off the doublepoint needles and put it onto a cable needle to try it on. Good idea. Won’t fit over my heel. Not easily anyway. Hmmm. 60 stitches too big. 56 stitches too small. Back to the drawing board.

I did like the way they were turning out. I guess I’ll just have to save this idea for another yarn, another time.

Meanwhile, here’s wicked dog:

The Knittery Cashmere Merino

That’s my sleeve in case you are wondering. She is a willfull little beast. Sometimes we tell her “NO!” and she gets so angry she isn’t being allowed to do what she wants, that she will stand there, stare into your face, and bark right back at you.

What a funny little creature. In spite of the occassional wicked moment, we will miss this stage after she grows out of it.

Leave a comment