Computer died

June 13, 2008

I haven’t posted in the last couple of weeks because my computer did a death roll. It’s facing up again now; but, that doesn’t mean I trust it. And, in my line of work, absolute trust is required.

So I had my computer genius, Peter Ashford, build me a new computer. He’s set me up with a network box so after he checks out the old machine and makes sure it is fully functional and reliable, the new machine and the old machine will be able to talk to each other. Very cool.

Meanwhile, the first night of the computer disaster, I needed something to keep my hands off the keyboard while I was waiting for all my various restore programs to try and work their magic. None of them could, and as you can see from the stress that pours out in the sloppy stitches on the bottom of this little project, it was touch and go for a while. Oh well. Didn’t think it mattered. The project served it’s purpose to keep me from flailing around on the keyboard.

soap pocket

I didn’t want to knit on anything more serious because I knew I would be setting the needles down every few minutes to punch keys and I didn’t want anything that would require concentration because I was a more than a little frazzled. In this situation, idle hands would have surely brought on some devil’s work–if indeed that wasn’t what I was already dealing with. Was I really bad person in another life? Is that why every single one of the files on my operating system drive disappeared? I digress. So I did what any rational knitter would do to keep the computer situation from going down an even darker hole: I picked up my copy of Knitter’s Almanac and learned double knitting ala EZ. Using some scrap cotton yarn, I made a soap pocket.

with soap

inside

The idea is, that this will work much like a soap saver that I bought from Northern Essence. It doesn’t work quite as well because the cotton is a bit too soft to feel “scrubby” but the concept is sound. Someday, I’ll revisit this with a more scratchy yarn. Meanwhile, I’m trying to figure out how to apply the same knitting strategy to sock soles.

One Response to “Computer died”

  1. Chris Says:

    Scrubby or not, the color is gorgeous.
    Chris


Leave a Reply

