Interesting tidbit

July 17, 2008

I subscribe to a few word of the day lists. It’s a writer thing. A geek thing. Anyway, I do it.

Today, the Visual Thesaurus had a nice knitterly term:

Cardigan
No, you don’t have to be over 60 to wear one, even though this knit garment with a buttoned or zippered front seems to have an affinity for the senior set. Its namesake is the 7th earl of Cardigan, whose troops’ uniform had a similar component.”

While fascinating to us logophiles, that isn’t the primary reason for this post. Tada . . .

The Opal Sweater

Are you expecting luscious opalescent colors?

Are you thinking my sweater knitting has risen to a whole new level after merely one sweater?

Are you thinking I’ve become an amazing speed knitter?

Are you wishing I would just get on with it? Alrighty then.

Fish or fowl?

Fish or fowl?

It fits!

It fits! After ripping the entire sweater out once, and two more partial frogs, I finally figured out how to shape a sweater for a rat dog.

and it fits my personality,

There were some tense moments during fittings. Opal has learned that she is NOT TO EVER TOUCH KNITTING. NO. BAD DOG. This created some stress when I came at her with an in-progress project with needles and balls of yarn still attached. Not only did I touch her with something she has learned she should never touch, I shoved it over her head and made her stand in weird poses. However, as soon as it was finished, she took to it immediately, unlike some dogs who seem to believe that a sweater creates immobility.

especially if you think this makes me look a little dragon-like,

I think the spikes give her a bit of a dragonly look, which is so suiting to her personality.

because I like to bite anything that gets near!

She’s still in that baby-biting phase that makes her want to bite anything and everything near her. Oh, yeah, she’s supposed to have outgrown that phase now that she has her adult teeth. Could this be a life-long personality trait? Help!!

Thanks to Jakob for providing the backdrop in couple of these photos.

3 Responses to “Interesting tidbit”

  1. Chris Says:

    Hi Ruth,
    Fantastic job. I still have to grin about Opal’s dragon personality. You should be grateful that she is not able to spit fire ;-))).
    I am looking forward to new Opal cardigans since they seem to inspire some new sock designs in me. So I am counting on you to keep on knitting those.
    Have a nice day
    Chris

  2. Kimberly Says:

    Oh my gosh – have been out of town for awhile so I haven’t been reading your posts in over a week. I LOVE that dragon sweater! Did you make up the pattern? This goes for the two posts after it too – great projects and I hope your hands are feeling better. Especially love the hat!

  3. Kate Says:

    Wow, Ruth, that dog-dragon is amazing!!! I’m going to have to go back through your blog archives now and see what other amazing stuff you have made!
    I saw the yarn spree, and am seriously drooling over some of your haul! And I have a ncie-to-animals event that I will share in a couple of weeks.
    Keep up the great blogging!


Leave a Reply

