A little possum followed me home

October 30, 2008

I have a thing about New Zealand possum. I haven’t seen a live one yet. But I know if I did, I would love it’s little furry body. I certainly love their fur.

Yesterday, I had to make a quick drive (i.e. 3 1/2 hours each way) up to Colorado Springs to interview some people for the newsletter I write. I got this shot.

25 men on a pole

This was taken in the afternoon after the opening festivities for the newest lineman school in Colorado. I’m not sure the young men in this program would approve of their photo being used on a blog devoted primarily to knitting. But, there are many things in life over which we have no control.

I kept this in mind as I listed to POTUS08 on the XM radio on the way there and back. I heard good news. I heard bad news. I decided I needed to do something to make me feel like I did SOMETHING to help so I called today to volunteer to drive people to the polls on Tuesday. A small gesture. But a small gesture is better than no gesture.

Anyway, while the linemen-to-be were taking a lunch break, I ran over to the Knitting Kove on Union and found some lovely Cherry Tree Hill Merino/Possum sock yarn. The store owner also has a rat terrier who was in typical ratty little mood so I didn’t get a chance to cuddle and pet her. However, it was entertaining to talk “dog” to the little rat’s owner who had, coincidentally, also owned a dachshund before the rat. We had a grand time swapping dog tales.

Meanwhile, a little possum followed me home so I will get my cuddles in. Gorgeous stuff.

One Response to “A little possum followed me home”

  1. Chrissie Says:

    What a great thing to do, volunteer as a chauffeur for people who would otherwise not make it. Nice knitting for Obama button. Did you know that there are some quilts to support and fund raise Obama. I always feel awed when handiwork is playing a political role. I am so excited about Tuesday.
    Have a good one and knit some possum
    Chris


Leave a Reply

