Want to buy a house?

November 3, 2008

Check it out: http://www.pencraftco.com/forsale.htm Send us a buyer and I will reward you with yarn. Seriously.

We have finally settled on a listing price after much deliberation. To come up with a fair price, we looked at other houses for sale in the Valley. We calculated some typical price-per-square-foot values for a wide range of property types and specifically for properties that are located out of town.

Even though a portion of our house is near new, we selected a value toward the lower end of the range because some of this home is older. Using this we came up with a home value. Then we added in what we thought might be a fair value for the portions of the property that could be considered “income” producing: the Quonset hut and the 3 acres in alfalfa.

I hope we’ve figured correctly. Coming up with a good list price seems like the hardest part in an owner-sell situation. Comments, thoughts? More important, buyers?

Meanwhile, knitting continues. I am finished with one of the Jojoland Melody socks and am working the heel on the second sock. I’ll post a picture when I get them finished.

Looking for some inspiration: check out some lovely laceknitting by Sue. Stunning isn’t it?

I was almost tempted to run look for my laceknitting books to see what beauty I could dream about for my next project. But no. I made a decision this weekend to enjoy what I’m knitting on now without longing for the next project. I’m going to focus on what’s on the needles and wait till it’s done before I start dreaming of my next project.

Easier said than done. But, why not? I picked the Jojoland and the Sixth Sense sock pattern because I thought they would look good together, I liked the idea of trying a different heel and toe design and I was otherwise intrigued by the entire project. So, why not enjoy every single minute of it without wondering what will find it’s way on to my needles next?

I think this is a good metaphor for life. Be here now. Enjoy the present. Don’t worry what tomorrow will bring because you aren’t going to change it. Unless of course, you are a die-hard procrastinator and by not doing today you create issues for tomorrow. That’s another scenario. As long as you are present and acting to your highest level, I think tomorrow will take care of itself.

This may be a particularly apropo philosophy given that tomorrow is election day.

And because picture-less posts are boring, here are some shots from our recent trip to Tasmania.

The charming B&B near Hobart where we stayed.

Two peacocks lived in residence.

The ancient flour mill.

Edge of the world--nearest land to the west is 7,000 miles away.

The east coast of Tasmania.

2 Responses to “Want to buy a house?”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Tasmania looks beautiful! And I think your listing looks great – and very reasonable. I’ll be sure to pass it on to anyone I I know who may be looking to buy.

  2. Vicki Says:

    I wish I knew people in the area who were interested – unfortunately, I’m in Chicagoland… Out of curiosity, where are you planning on moving to?


Leave a Reply

