Peaches and Herb

November 25, 2008

I was a fool to ever leave your side
Me minus you is such a lonely ride
The breakup we had has made me
Lonesome and sad
I realize I love you
‘Cause I want you bad, hey, hey

Reunited and it feels so good
Reunited ’cause we understood
There’s one perfect fit
And, sugar, this one is it
We both are so excited
‘Cause we’re reunited, hey, hey

Another trip to Denver and Jojoland Melody is singin’ away. socks and sweater

I don’t believe the little fellow suffered unduly; although, the gals at the dentist’s office are apparently into bondage. The sock was all wrapped up in a ziptop baggie with note on reuniting us stapled to the bag. Now, we’re ready to rock and roll again. With no distractions, I’ll finish these socks over the next couple of evenings and I can return to my knitting monogamy. This time on the sweater.

I started the sleeves on the Textured Raglan on the way up to Denver. Didn’t get too far because I had to restart one sleeve three times to get the cast on to match the other. I don’t know why — I did the same thing each time. A knitting mystery. Anyway, they match pretty well now.

Textured Raglan tubular cast on

I’m using a tubular cast on for this project and it looks pretty nice. It’s very stretchy. I think I may regret my decision to not use the cable cast on the pattern calls for when I get to the neck because I suspect the tubular will not match the edge on the neck. But, oh well. What’s done is done and the good news is that it does look like this sweater will get done!

I wonder if Sheri at the Loopy Ewe knows what she started with that Dream In Color Sweater KAL last spring! I have turned into a virtual sweater monster. I bought more yarn in Denver for a color sweater. I have yarn for three or four about nine sweaters all lined up with patterns for most, if not all. Will I ever need this many sweaters?

Actually, I don’t think knitting is about needs. Not for me. It’s really all about wants. Things I want to do for me, to please me. Which means, no Christmas knitting going on here. Oh well dear friends and readers. Do not expect a sock in your Christmas stocking from this knitting maniac. Chris, in Germany, tells me this is just fine and I’m going to believe her on this point.

On a slightly different subject, I wanted to mention that we don’t have just one dog. We have two. I know it’s weird (because he’s a dog); but, I totally relate to those moms who don’t want pictures of their children on the internet. I am very protective of Jakob. He’s not all there. I wouldn’t go so far as to say he’s a dim wit. However, I will tell you that his nickname is “Punkin’Head” if that gives you a clue.

He’s a standard wire-haired dachshund and I fear that he has become jealous of all the comments regarding dear little Opal. So, unveiling for the first time, an entire picture of Jakob (vs. just a shot of a tail or ear or whatever).

Jakob in his standard reclining pose

He is a doll!

He's not particularly photogenic.

Isn’t he adorable? People ask what kind of mutt he is all the time. With a very straight face, the resident non-knitter tells them he’s a cross between a Vietnamese pot-bellied pig and a schnauzer. The responses are hilarious — to me anyway. Most people simply accept this answer. Which makes me understand how, in this great country of ours, so many people liked Palin.

When Jakob isn’t on hand to show his beautiful little self in person, and people ask what a standard wire-haired dachshund looks like, the resident non-knitter uses various descriptions to explain the breed. “A pig in a gorilla suit”
and “an extra-large dachshund covered in pubic hair” are his two favorites.

Do you see why I am so protective?

3 Responses to “Peaches and Herb”

  1. Chrissie Says:

    So we knitters got a new holiday here: Sock Reunion Day! I admire your discipline to move back to knitting monogamy. The sweater really looks nice. And I really understand why you “needed” more than 6. You will be able to wear them all. But seeing this fine yarn quality you might never wear them out. LOL
    And of course the edge of the neck will match the tubular cast on. You only need to use Italian cast off. Piece of cake ;-))).
    http://www.lanagrossa.com/service/stricktipps/stricktipp_italienischabketten.html
    Jacob does not seem to be all that dimwitted if he is able to read your blog and be jealous about Opal’s impact on your readers. I wonder how he would describe his non knitting master to other members of his species. “A gorilla in a pig suit?” LOLOLOL (Sorry R. if you should happen to read this. But that pass was too tempting to well, let it pass.)
    Chris

  2. Kimberly Says:

    You kill me! Glad to see what Jakob looks like. I can so hear your Rnk saying all those things in his wry straight faced way! I am glad your got your sock back and love the sweater.

    Have a great Thanksgiving – I was just remembering that I think the first time we met was at Thanksgiving at J&L’s house.

  3. Vicki Says:

    You crack me up! I’ve been seeking the answer for why so many people like Palin, and you’ve (very eloquently) given that gift to me.

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

