Knitter Assistance Requested

February 23, 2009

Just a quick alert to send you here. Serendipity is asking knitters to offer help to those who have been impacted by the horrendous fires in Victoria, Australia.

I am also quite concerned about the impact the fires (and the flooding in Queensland) have had on animals. I haven’t looked yet to see what opportunities there are to help our animal friends. I know there were a tremendous number of dogs, cats and horses who were separated from their families in the flooding associated with Katrina. The same situation must have occurred in Australia too.

Meanwhile, I encourage you to support serendipity’s effort to raise money for the Red Cross. And besides, you might win something fun.

Around here, there has been lots of work, lots of planning going on (more on this topic one of these days) and lots of knitting.

I don’t have pictures to show, but the sleeves on Hamefarin, the resident non-knitter’s sweater (which he now claims he never wanted me to knit for him in the first place! — What is it with men??) are about 17 inches long and the body is within an inch of the same. Sleeves need to be 20.5 inches at the armpit (Did anyone say “ape arms?” No, not me, I wouldn’t say that.). Body needs to be 17 inches and then sleeves and body become joined and I get to start the raglan decreases.

I hope I can figure out how to make the translation from a pattern written for flat knitting to real knitting in the round. It didn’t look like it would be hard to figure out. I am a little concerned about decreasing in pattern. Increasing in pattern for the arms proved to me a more challenging concept than I had imagined. Don’t know why. It just was.

Resident non-knitter may be warned about raising his arms above his head in public. I just might not allow this. Especially if other knitters are in the vicinity. It might look better after I get the arms connected to the body and I take a needle and fiddle with the increases to smooth them out. Meanwhile, I’m not pleased, but there is no way on earth that I am going to rip those sleeves out AGAIN and try it a different way.

Third time’s a charm. Either that, or after two tries, the third just has to stick because I am too irritated, pissed, disgusted, etc. to start over again. There just comes a time when you have to move forward because doing it over isn’t making it better. I mean really, he doesn’t even want the sweater. Or so he says. It will look very nice just the way it is when it’s folded and sitting in the closet. The thought did cross my mind that I could have a nice comfy oversize sweater to wear around the house . . .

I am chomping at the bit to start another project. Can’t decide what it will be; but, fair isle looms large. A whole new technique for me! Tentatively, I’ll start with some fingerless mitts. I bought the kit for Glenesk and am smart enough to know that I need to learn “how” to knit fair isle before I start that baby. Maybe mitts and a pair or two of socks, maybe a hat . . . I guess I’ll see how it feels before I decide.

One Response to “Knitter Assistance Requested”

  1. Chrissie Says:

    Hi Ruth,
    RNK must be kidding. Now he doesn’t want the sweater after making you rib it all because it was too tight? You sure you got the same person back than the one you were with before? LOL
    Chin up. You were at odd with the last sweater as well and it turned out to be a beauty. You will like that one, too. And after you wore it several times the RNK will make an issue of it that you always wear HIS SWEATER. ;-)))
    Till soon
    Chris


Leave a Reply

