My elation was short-lived

March 15, 2009

I almost finished the sweater. It’s so close. I kitchnered the armpits, wove in most of the ends, and got the neck ready to bind off. The RNK wasn’t sure I had done a good enough!!! job on the armpit kitchnering for him. He didn’t want to be embarrassed if he ever had to raise his hand over his head. HMMM. I should have taken this as a warning to set everything aside. The thought that has been in the back of my head for the last three months, “I should have never agreed to knit this sweater,” kept trying to surface. I pushed it down.

I went ahead and left the under-the-arm ends loose so he could check my work in the full light of day. It made sense. I worked on this blasted sweater for three months. I didn’t want a shoddy job of kitchnering either.

So, this morning he finally tried it on to check to see if he liked the neck before I bound it off. He started with, “I don’t think this looks like the pattern.” This even before he got it on.

I showed him the pattern. He pointed out that my raglan decreases were slightly different. “Yes,” I agreed. “This pattern was not written to be knitted in the round. I modified it a bit and yes, my decreases are slightly different than how they would have turned out had I finished each piece flat and sewn them together.”

Next, he complained that the arms were “so tight.” “Ok, I’ll block the lower part of the arm hard.” Actually, it looked pretty good for an unblocked sweater. I thought the arms had an excellent fit. The length is perfect!

Next, he got it on and didn’t try to adjust it to fit squarely on his shoulders, so I reached up to pull the back down and accidentally gave him a shock and touched him with my fingernail. “OUUCCHHH!! You hurt me.”

Oh my god.

Next, he complained, “It’s too long. Cam you change that?” Of course, as you might already suspect, the length is pretty much spot-on for where he told me he wanted it to end. I would say I’m within a half inch.

“Only if I reknit the entire sweater,” I said.

Next, he complained, “The front has a big baggy spot here. Can you make it a little smaller around?”

“Only if I reknit the entire sweater,” I said. You might remember that I started the sweater twice, ripping out the first 220 yards I had knitted to start over with a looser ribbing so the part he calls “baggy” is far less baggy than it would have been with the original tight ribbing and looser body. I dryly suggested he look at the pattern.

Next he said, “I don’t think I like this neck. Can you replace the neck with the neck shown in this pattern?” He points to a woman’s sweater with a cabled neckband.

“Yes I could,” I said, as I wrapped the sweater up and put it away. Until I get a “thanks for spending three months of your life knitting me a sweater” or even a “it’s really nice,” this sweater will NEVER be finished.

I should have followed my intuition and never agreed to knit this sweater.

I am now working on a nice set of mittens for me in a fair isle pattern — my first fair isle pattern. Knitting is fun again. I’m pretty excited about working in color.

Note: I will post a picture of the yet-unfinished sweater one of these days.

Note to self: Always follow intuition.

4 Responses to “My elation was short-lived”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    How disappointing! I can only imagine the frustrations.

    What mittens are you working on? I’m thinking of trying my hand at fair isle this year.

  2. Chrissie Says:

    Hi Ruth,

    Hmmmm, as if I didn’t expect such a thing. But you can take my word for it, if you finish it and wear it, he will claim this sweater to be his and EXCLUSIVELY his.
    Btw, did I happen to mention that I have got ape arms and I am a very tall person that always needs very long sweaters? Oh, I did. Well, I just thought I’d let you know in case you might have overlooked it. LOLOL
    Chris

  3. Kimberly Says:

    Ouch! Remind me to kick him in the shins next time I see him . . .

  4. Kate Says:

    I’m not planning to knit a jumper for my husband until I own (or borrow) a knitting machine. I have no fancy to condemn myself to acres of navy stockingstitch for merely moderate praise!!
    :>


Leave a Reply

