Apparently I have no sense of humor

March 30, 2009

according to the Resident Non-Knitter. I finished his sweater and the first thing he told me was, “I think the collar is really nice.” This, he said, as he was fondling, touching and admiring said sweater.

“That’s not what you said before,” I retorted.

“When? I’ve always told you it was beautiful and I really liked it.”

“Don’t you remember a few Sunday’s ago when you made a number of disparaging comments?”

“Oh that. Can’t you take a joke?”

Apparently not.

Then he proceeded to explain to me that he loves the sweater, he has always loved the sweater and he will continue to love the sweater all the while continuing with the fondling, touching and admiring of said sweater. However, he did not try it on.

I laid the “measurement shirt” (a machine-knit pullover) on the bed and the sweater over it. Everything matched up perfectly except for the circumference which we had intentionally made slightly smaller. The “measurement shirt” has a very boxy cut. The RNK looked at the shirt with the sweater over it and figured everything looked good enough for him to see that it would fit. “Perfect,” he said as he walked out of the room.

“Aren’t you going to try it on?”

“No, I can see that it’ll fit perfect.”

That was it. The end of the three months of sweater knitting. It does leave a question in my mind — does he know how to put a sweater on? I did witness him put the cashmere sweater on once. It came off again a few minutes later; but, he did put it on. I retain a small shred of hope that the sweater will actually be worn once, maybe twice (let’s not get greedy here).

I asked if he would consider allowing me to take a photo of him modeling the sweater for the blog. NOT!

So here, without further ado:

I also finished my first fair isle project, a project I have christened as “The Dork Mitts.”

And finally, just to prove that they are actually “hand-sized”

3 Responses to “Apparently I have no sense of humor”

  1. Chrissie Says:

    Absolutely stunning job. This sweater is beyond beautiful. It looks fantastic. If I changed my name into R*****, would I be allowed to wear it? I promise to wear it more than twice. LOLOLOL The RNK would turn into R**** Never Knows. But joking aside I really think this is a wonderful garment. I wish I could make sweaters that nice. And the mits are ever so cute. Don’t let ignorant comments scare you. You are an accomplished knitter.
    Chris

  2. wen Says:

    The sweater is stunning. I don’t think you should make the RNK anything else until he has started to wear this one consistently though.

    When I made Eno (my RNK) his first one I couldn’t get it off him to wash! Can you let me know what pattern you used.

  3. Wendy Says:

    Wow- I stumbled into your site following a kitchner link on Google and had to tell you how stunning this sweater is! It is so, so beautiful. Would love to know the particulars – what yarn, what pattern, et cetera. Gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

