I head home in a week

August 29, 2009

One week from now, if all goes well with weather and everything, I will be on board a plane that has just taken off from Melbourne en route to LA. It’s bittersweet.

Of course, I want to go home and see the RNK and little Opal and Jakob. On the other hand, it’s been a very pleasant stay here. I met many fantastic people, saw gorgeous country, ate exquisite food and enjoyed relaxing and being on my own.

I wish I could post pictures of the finished sweater. But alas, I doubt if I will finish it over the next week. I’ll give it a go; but, sewing seams is a time consuming process for me and after I get it all put together, then I have to pick up stitches for finishing on just about every edge. The collar will require a fair bit of knitting too, since I plan to deviate from the collar on the pattern. It might have been a great collar in its day. But now, it just looks dated to me. I’m thinking that I need something a little bigger to go with the heavy texture in the pattern too. I may have to experiment.

morninmay

I hope it’s OK to post this. The photo is from the cover of the Classic Elite pattern, A Morn in May, available from Patternfish. I highly recommend Patternfish. If this pattern is indicative, I also recommend Classic Elite patterns. Well-written, reasonably priced and interesting designs.

I’ve got the fronts and back done, the sleeves are getting really close to the last increases and then a bit of knitting to get to the sleeve caps. Hopefully, there will be time for one more post before I head home. I’m working on another newsletter and I’ve got another project going too, so time is at a premium.

Leave a Reply

