I won!

September 24, 2009

I entered in a Planet Purl drawing in August. Here’s what the contest required:

Which of these Vogue Knitting Fall 2009 hat projects is your favorite? Vote and be entered in our drawing.

Here’s the link in case you are interested in the hats.

Easy, fun and best of all, I won!!! Erin, the Planet Purl guru, emailed me a week ago with the good news. Planet Purl is a fun site. I have used it to find yarn stores when I travel. There are a bunch other cool resources too including a very nice link to pattern errata.

Winning was all the more exciting since my birthday was in August and I didn’t get to celebrate this year since I was in Tasmania. I did get a lovely gift of a gorgeous skein of yarn and TWO hand knit pairs of socks from my friend Chris shortly after I got home. However, mom didn’t even send me a prezzie. That’s how much of a non-birthday it was.

I’m going to think of this as a birthday gift. And the prize:

knitpicks_zephyr_acrylics

a set of the new Zephyr Acrylic Interchangeable Needles from Knit Picks. I had bought some of the Acrylic tips to try out. And yes, I like them quite a bit. My only complaint, the clear color sometimes reflects the yarn, making it harder to see what you are doing with some stitch manipulations. Minor. They are delightfully flexible and have the nice pointy tips that Knit Picks are known for. I like them better than the wood and as much, perhaps more, than the nickle-plated needles.

Can a knitter ever have too many needles? I think not.

So thanks Erin, Planet Purl and Knit Picks!

Leave a Reply

