Sometimes everything goes bad

January 14, 2010

I started to make a list in my head last night as I was trying to fall asleep.

Dog ran off after deer yesterday morning. Ran after her in Crocs in the snow. Feet wet and cold. Bad dog.

Feature article for newsletter not going well. Boring.

Rosarie (Ravelry link) swatch not looking the way I wanted it too. Waiting for different colors to arrive. May take forever. Bad mail.

Yarn arrived for third start on Mendocino (another Ravelry link). I would wind some yarn and get started if it weren’t for that pesky pillow project for the window seat. The zipper has me paralyzed. On the positive side, the ONLY foot I can find for the sewing machine happens to be the zipper foot. I don’t know why. I have not sewn a zipper into anything since completing my hideous seventh grade home-ec sewing project. Which I wore. We got a better grade if we were brave enough to wear it. Bad memory.

I’m restarting the merino/possum socks for the third (or is it the fourth) time. On the last attempt, I got through the heel. Too tight. Too short. Bad sock.

I’m way behind on work. Lots to do. No motivation because I couldn’t get to sleep last night. Actually no, that wasn’t the problem. I would fall right to sleep, then wake up. For no reason. Lie there. Fall asleep again. Wake up. Bad sleep.

Stash busting hasn’t gone well at all. In the last couple of weeks I’ve bought five skeins of sock yarn, enough blue Bainin for a vest, enough ruby Bainin for Mendocino, one book, two Starmore kits and the extra 2-ply for Rosarie. I cashed in the gift certificate the RNK gave me for The Yarn Gallery and came home with 20 skeins of baby llama — enough for another sweater. Bad girl.

I would add more to the list — believe me, I came up with more last night — but it wouldn’t be interesting. Bad post.

At least I took a pretty good picture of an “Oregon” black-eyed Junco.

Good bird.

(Updated to add Ravelry links)

One Response to “Sometimes everything goes bad”

  1. Chrissie Says:

    I thought the spiritual exercise suggested it the other way round: Note the good things, that is. LOL.
    GOOD GIRL: You cared enough for your dog to ran after her.
    GOOD GIRL: You decided against a tiresome project of a sweater you would never wear.
    GOOD GIRL: You even braved wearing something hideous at school in order to get a better grade. Very valiant.
    GOOD GIRL: You treated yourself well with yarn.
    GOOD GIRL: You supported the Yarn Gallery.
    I hope this day will be better for you. But in any case at the end of the day you will be a GOOD GIRL.


Leave a Reply

