OK, so I’m a little crazy

February 4, 2010

as Stephanie so gently pointed out. Who in their right mind would offer to trade a perfectly good, new digital camera for a book? Especially if tradees were high-profile bloggers who have been plagued by wacko serial commenters. (Spell check is underlining a lot of words in that last sentence, but I’m just going to go with it.)

Fortunately the blog came to my rescue and I have sold the camera for an amount that will cover half of my deductible on the deer incident. Ah yes, another little event that happened last week right before the computer motherboard went postal.

I hit a deer with the car. The deer ran off; the car still runs. And hopefully, both will regain their former ability and agility after a little R & R. Or, in the case of the car, a little restorative magic performed by the local body shop.

Meanwhile, perhaps you are wondering about the lack of knitting. Some people say these things come in threes, and perhaps they do. Let’s say they do. Let’s count this as number three.

I decided to self-diagnose an elbow injury and started my own physical therapy program which promptly exacerbated a slight hand issue. I now have a major hand issue. I have ceased the PT program, and the hand is coming around nicely. Once again, I can pull on a pair of socks and pick up a tea mug without wincing. The elbow still hurts like a son-of-a-gun; but, that doesn’t interfere with knitting. The thumb thing makes knitting hard. Even though it’s getting better, knitting is still a back-burner activity.

It’s too bad because I’ve entered my fair isle phase and I have a great start on an Alice Starmore vest: Rosarie. I did some color swapping because the lovely rose colors in the picture on the Virtual Yarns site are actually very bright red. Red is not me. But, Kim, of Yarn Gallery fame (Alamosa’s best yarn shop * ) came to my rescue and swapped out the brilliant red with some amazing blue colors and off I go.

Rosarie in blue

This shot shows how far I had gotten on the pattern about two weeks ago. There’s no point in updating with a new progress picture, because there is no progress. I look at it. I touch it. I don’t knit on it. It’s too heavy. It hurts my hand to hang onto it while I knit. Not that there is much weight, much holding or much hanging. The hand is just very sore (probably a penance from God for hitting the deer).

* Kim’s shop would be the best yarn shop in Alamosa even if it weren’t the only one. She has amazing hand-dyed yarn, a very nice selection of commercial yarn, a great book selection, spinning wheels, fiber and more. It’s a really nice place to hang out too. If you are ever in Alamosa, Colorado, keep an eye out on main street for the “Yarn Shop Open” sign. The shop is above Carlucci’s and across from the micro-brewery. It’s on San Juan and Main. She’s also online at The Yarn Gallery.

7 Responses to “OK, so I’m a little crazy”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Wow, I am blushing . . .

    The vest is looking beautiful!

  2. Chrissie Says:

    This vest is an eyecatcher. No wonder you couldn’t keep your hands off that one. I am curious about the possum socks as well……

  3. Sheri Says:

    Your vest is looking gorgeous already! Love the colors.

  4. pencraftco Says:

    Sheri,
    Thank you so much for you kind comment about my vest and for taking the time to look at my blog! I got into your sock club this year. I’m very excited about that.

    Of course, I must mention that I attribute my sweater knitting to you. Without the Loopy Challenge, the DIC one a year or so ago, I may never have knitted the “first” sweater and without that, well, I wouldn’t have done any of the others either! I love that first sweater and wear it often even though I now know I really didn’t do a very good job of setting the sleeves in. LOL But it built my confidence and got me started down that path and I am loving very much where I’ve gotten to. All because of you! 🙂 Thanks.

    Ruth

  5. Stephanie Says:

    Well, it looks like when you do knit, you knit incredibly impressive sweaters. Might as well take a break though, let your body rest and regenerate… (and: ouch!)

    Glad to hear you successfully sold the camera though! See, the two didn’t respond to your offer of a *free* camera so you could *sell* it. 😉

  6. danielle Says:

    Wow – that vest is going to be stunning – just seeing a preview of what you have done so far is breathtaking! I am not a blue person at all and I love how those colors look together!

  7. Bev Love Says:

    I love your color selections.


Leave a Reply

