I thought suggesting a random give-away

June 23, 2010

of yarn or yarn gift cards would inspire some of you to let me know that I’m on the right track here. Maybe the association between yarn and the oil spill and the sad state of politics in this country was just too freaky to make such an idea work.

Oh well. The RNK tells me that most people are just not as passionate as I am when it comes to being upset about how things like Miranda Rights are being eroded.

Most people don’t care that the “organic” milk, butter and cheese they buy in the U.S. will probably eventually come from cows who were fed GMO alfalfa based on yesterday’s newest court actions. I don’t see how it will be any other way. GMO and non-GMO alfalfa fields will cross pollinate. There’s no way, short of geographic isolation, to keep that from happening, is there? (Sorry Canada. Did you really want a voice in what happens on your continent?)

Maybe I’m a bit extreme when it comes to my understanding of the implications of the Supreme Court’s ruling in the recent Holder v. Humanitarian Law Project case. You can download the court decision on that one here. Just look for the 6/21/10 Holder v link in the “Recent Decisions” bar on the right-hand side of the page. I’ve seen some news reports saying that the right to negotiate for peace has been eliminated with this ruling. I don’t know if I would go that far. As I’ve said before, I’m not a legal expert; but, I didn’t like what I read.

The bottom line, if we all don’t care and we all feel helpless and we all don’t act, it will never stop. When people abdicate the right to make decisions for themselves, it’s clear that others will step in to make decisions for them. Not speaking up in a democracy equates to giving others control — doesn’t it?

Here I am, being just as bad about my political proselytizing as all the religious folks are about their religious proselytizing. Which I hate. I think an adult human being in this day and age can make up their own mind about religion, thank you.

However, politics are different than religion. People know where to find out about religion if they are interested. They know when they walk into a Catholic church, they will hear the Catholic take on religion; if they walk into a Jewish synagogue they will hear the Jewish take on religion. Or whatever. It’s posted over the door. The sign says, “Enter here, and we’ll tell you our version of truth. It’s a good one; join us.”

Not so with the news and politics. Not always anyway. Most media outlets claim to be unbiased. Yet, mainstream media is pretty much owned by a very few individuals in this country. We do not have the diversity in our press that we had 20 years ago, even 10 years ago. We don’t have the luxury of turning the dial to hear a totally different view on the news. We hear the “take” that the news company who owns the newspapers and radio stations and television stations wants us to hear. We must seek other versions to make our own decisions.

So my political ramblings feel different to me. Maybe they aren’t. What choice do I have though — being an apparently passionate individual — except to just keep plugging away, doing what I think is right? It’s not like I’m knocking on your front door or anything. You don’t have to read this blog if it pains you.

It pains me to see this country become a country that isn’t the one I learned about in grade school. And I’m going to speak up as loudly as I can.

One Response to “I thought suggesting a random give-away”

  1. Chris Says:

    Hi Ruth,
    I am sure this turn of the blog is a good thing. It’s healthy for you to write about these things and it surely wouldn’t hurt others to be more conscious. And this way you did at least something to help matters change.
    Chris


Leave a Reply

