Citron and Clapotis

June 25, 2010

Amid my anguish at the oil spill, disgust at the U.S. political system, fear of our current Supreme Court and attempt to keep all of that in perspective by engulfing myself in the enjoyment of summer, there has been knitting. First, another Clapotis. Then, Citron.

Knitting one Clapotis wasn’t enough for me. I know some people report taking months, if not years, to complete the scarf. However, as soon as I finished the first one, it occurred to me that there was not, anywhere in the universe, a better vacation knitting project. Simple. Rewarding. Easy to pack. Easy to pick up and put down on a whim.

I started a week before we left on our two-week vacation. I wanted to get through the increase section so I could weigh out the yarn and set the same amount aside on the other end of the ball for the decrease sections. On this second version, I twisted the stitch on either side of the dropped stitch on both the knit and purl sides of the pattern and I think it made a crisper line. On both, I purled the dropped stitch in lieu of markers.

I decided to block it much less severely than the first. I thought it would be nice to have the two variations. After it dried though, I wasn’t sure I liked this version and was planning to reblock it — until today. I took it out to the bench in the courtyard to take some photos for you.

While I was photographing it, I made a discovery. No matter how it falls, it looks nice. I have decided to leave it as it is. See:

I finished it the day before we came home from our trip. I cast on for Citron that same day. If you’ve read any of my prior posts, you know that Citron and I didn’t get along so well. I misread the pattern a few times. I think of mine as Kelp —

with Bubbles.

Obviously, there was a little misinterpretation with the m1. That and a miscounting error that resulted in slightly wider ruched bands which then required a longer ruffle. I still like it. And indeed, it would have been too small without the extra rows I accidentally added.

What’s next? Probably finishing a pair of socks, then back to Rosarie in Blue. Or, can you suggest something that I might enjoy better for summer knitting? The idea of having a lap-full of wool doesn’t hold much appeal on a warm summer day.

2 Responses to “Citron and Clapotis”

  1. Chris Says:

    Wow, both shawls look yummmmmmy. Good job on the Citron. I like the YO’s. This is a very nice alternation.

  2. Bev Love Says:

    Your Clapotis is beautiful. I am about to cast on my 4th one. Sock yarns just scream Clapotis to me. I still need to knit Citron, I bought some Merino Mia for it in May but I have not cast on yet. Instead I got bitten by the spinning bug. . . and knit that 3rd clapotis 😉


Leave a Reply

