Next up,

September 28, 2010

the fill-in knit. I was having difficulty concentrating on the pattern for Maia, the small shoulderette I was working on during the move. The pattern isn’t difficult; the move was.

During this same time, I went in to the Yarn Gallery and Kim gave me a lovely present, a US 5 Signature cable needle. WOOTT!!! I was admiring the needles, looked up and across the room, there was a blue skein of yarn in one of her “odd lot” baskets that screamed out to me. I went over to pick it up, and weirdly, it was a skein I had asked her to consign for me. Serendipity. It went back into the knitting bag and on the drive back up to the house we were moving out of, I started playing.

No pattern, no stress, just easy knitting. After I got home, I ended up starting over with a clearer vision in my head. A few rows into it, I grabbed one of Walker’s stitch dictionaries and found a simple pattern stitch. A few days later, I grabbed Nancy Bush’s Estonian Shawls book, and saw a couple other stitch patterns I liked. I sort of mimicked one of the shawls in the book. The result:

It’s extremely small for a shawl, but it works well with a pin holding it closed and it will look cute with my winter coat. I’m pleased. Less pleased with Maia. I discovered the trauma of the move had affected me more than I initially thought. I had difficulty counting to four.

I thought I was following the pattern: four repeats then start the edge. I had enough yarn for four repeats. Unfortunately, in spite of checking over and over and over, I knitted five repeats. I looked on Ravelry and decided I might have enough yarn anyway and I forged ahead with the edge pattern.

As you would suspect, I ran out of yarn just five rows short of completing the entire pattern as written. At least the point of the leaf/arrow shape was finished and there was, I thought, enough yarn left for the a single bind off row. So, I decided just to end the pattern there. But, as you would suspect, I ran out of yarn just after binding off half of the shoulderette.

I was cleaning the house for another showing (yes, we are trying to sell this house too). While in the yarn loft trying to straighten things out a bit, I took a peek in a sock bin to see if there was something similar. A pale blue merino/bamboo fingering matched the Panda Toes well enough in color to try it. However, I’m not very happy with the results.

What do you think? Leave it and try to block it so that the bind-off doesn’t show as much, block it and gift it to a non-knitter, rip it back a full repeat and try again, search for a better match and finish the entire pattern, rip back with the yarn I have and alternate between the two different skeins and finish the entire pattern, or just burn it? So many choices.

3 Responses to “Next up,”


  1. I would rip back one row as to have enough to bind off. Great job designing, its beautiful.

    When I make some thing that is going to be finished when I run out of yarn, I measure out with my arms length several times based on how big it is and put a slip knot in, then when I do the next row I see where the slip knot is and adjust how many measurments it will take and make sure I have that much for the ending. Sometimes I will just turn the rest of the skien into a ball measuing off the right amount first. Then when I get close I see how much I have to get to the slip knot. Alright that is as clear as mud. Example I have been making mobius scarfs latley and it took 15 measurements to finish it. I rolled the rest into a ball marking the last 15 with a slip knot, pulled 15 from the ball did a round and started for the next only had 7 left so I knew that would not be enough. So I bound off.
    Any questions holler. Happy knitting Doti

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Both of those are such similar colors. πŸ™‚ I adore the first shawl! So pretty – although not what I personally would call “no stress, easy knitting”. πŸ˜‰ I would rip back a full repeat to finish the shawl correctly. I don’t think that extra yarn is going to work. It’s pretty noticeably different in the second photo.

  3. Chris Says:

    Hi Ruth, woa, the design of your shawl is great. Sometimes the secret of beauty lies in not overdoing it. And this shawl shows the balance of being intricate yet still composed.

    As for Maia, am I the only lazy person here? I wouldn’t rip out a whole repeat. IF AT ALL I might rip out the bind off. But I have to admit, that I would rather block it and see if the difference in the yarn shows. If it does I would add a crochet round of simple stitches along the whole rim and call it intention. Old performer’s trick. If you trip on stage, make sure to repeat it.

    Now I am curious what you would do. The reason why I prefer my method: It’s way more pleasing to me to add to a creation than to minimize one. You could even crochet a ruffle in the lighter colored yarn and some people might ask you later how you came up with this creat ideas. A lot of good products and stunning pieces of art have been born as a result of a limitation.

    Till soon
    Chris


Leave a Reply

