Clean

October 7, 2010

Norma, of Now Norma Knits mentioned a book a few months ago that intrigued me. Clean by Dr Alejandro Junger MD.

I read half of it in my normal, distracted way and didn’t get around to finishing it. Meanwhile, the RNK was home sick for three days. While he was lounging recouperating on the sofa in the living room, he read the entire book on the Kindle 3 he bought me for my birthday.

Let me digress for a moment.

The Kindle is great. I highly recommend it. I’ve got mine all dressed up as a leaf. Perhaps overkill, cause the RNK got me an nice case for it too.

But, I like it’s leafy little look and sometimes, when I’m reading, Opal decides to walk across my lap and steps all over the Kindle in the process. So, the DecalGirl cover does protect it from scratches.

End of digression.

The RNK was so taken by the stories in the book and the diet itself that he insisted we must follow it. Start now. No stinking preparation for us. Dive right in.

So, we drove to Vitamin Cottage in Santa Fe, spent $272 on things like dried organic mango (yuhm) and hemp milk (not yuhm), lots of fresh organic vegies, nut butter, seeds for sprouting, unpasturized vinegar, etc. etc. etc. and off we went.

So far, we’re three or four days in (depending upon how you count) and it’s going great. No drastic, better-stay-at-home days like I hear other people describe with cleansing diets. No starvation feelings, yet. Although, if we stick with it for three weeks, that might come. We’ll see how it goes.

Work has been extremely hectic and I’m starting to move into the next newsletter cycle, so I haven’t had much time for knitting. Maia languishes in her sad little unblocked state. I’ve decided to block it before I make a decision on whether or not to frog back and reknit or whatever. It looks better in person than it does in a photo. I mean the mismatched yarn is not nearly so jarring in person. I will say that.

I did finish up one of the socks I’m making from the skein of yarn I dyed. I used a “short” skein weighing less than 85 grams so these will be very short on the leg. The iron heel worked out well. I’m ready to start the heel on the second pair and if you are the type who wears out sock heels, you’ll want to check back to see the finished result. This may be an idea you would like.

One Response to “Clean”

  1. Chris Says:

    Hahaha, re-coup-erating is a nice typo for someone cooking up the plan to go on a diet while lounging.


Leave a Reply

