I’ve been a little obsessed with

November 2, 2010

shawl-like scarves and scarf-like shawls this year. No, I am not participating in the 10 shawls in 2010; but, it sure feels like somehow I got off onto that road.

So far, I’ve knit 2 Clapotis, 1 Citron wannabe, 1 ruffled scarfy thingy (A Little Jazz), 1 self-designed shawl, 1 Maia and now I’ve got Holden on the needles.

Maia was the challenge because I had difficulty counting to four. This meant I accidentally did an extra repeat which caused me to run out of yarn about 5 rows short of completing the pattern. I played some games with similar, but different, yarn. Not very satisfying. I decided to set it aside until something else fell into my lap.

Oddly enough, something did fall into my lap. I got an email about a sale on Aphrodite sock yarn from Crown Mountain Farms. No, it wasn’t the same fiber blend. No, it wasn’t exactly the same color. However, it looked like it had a nice sheen just like the Crazy Monkey Panda Toes in Robin’s Egg I had started Maia with. And one Aphrodite color, Peggy Sue, was interestingly similar.

It arrived and I discovered one other slight difference. The Aphrodite is just a teensy bit heavier than Panda Toes. None-the-less, against all odds, I forged ahead.

Robin’s Egg (top) and Peggy Sue (bottom).

It worked! I tinked back about 4 or 5 rows, giving me about 10 rows to play with color blending. Then I picked up Peggy Sue and knitted across and back. I planned to pick up Robin’s Egg for another two rows, but I could see it would look like Mr. Stripey if I continued. So, with the Robin’s Egg up next for knitting, I knitted the full width across and then about 1/3 of the way back.

Next, I slid all the stitches over, and picked up Peggy Sue from the opposite side of the work and knitted the pattern over to where Robin’s Egg was, flipped and worked back, using the pattern in reverse as needed. I repeated variations on this theme, randomly changing where the colors started and stopped (except at the edge as needed) and the number of rows knitted with each color till I was down to the tiny little ball of Robin’s Egg you see in the picture above.

There was some Mr. Stripey from the original two rows of Peggy Sue. But the rest seems to flow together surprisingly well.

All in all, the slightly darker color and the teensiest heavier weight of Peggy Sue gives the edge a little heavier weighting, and that looks good to me.

Now for the glamor shots. Well, as much as my photography allows anyway.

The shawl has an interesting shape which you can see best in this shot of my back in the mirror. Very poor photography indeed; hopefully though, you get the idea.

The knitting starts with the center back medallion, then stitches are picked up and everything works back and forth in pretty much “normal” knitting fashion from there. Interesting design aspect and very pretty in the blocked piece.

I’m pleased that Peggy Sue appeared. I think it works. Do you?

7 Responses to “I’ve been a little obsessed with”

  1. ruth Says:

    Very, very pretty shawlette! I love knitting them and wearing them too.

  2. Chris Says:

    That is so cool. I would have never figured it out that you used two different yarns. And in opposition to some rumors I heard, this little shawlette looks very modern to me. Knitwear like this is sold in young fashion stores these days. ;-)))

  3. kimberly Says:

    Wow – that is beautiful! I miss you living nearby so that I can know what you are knitting!

    ps I had a set of keys to the studio made just for you 🙂

  4. emmy Says:

    it totally worked! you can’t tell at all – so so pretty.

  5. Stephanie Says:

    Works great and looks beautiful!

  6. Susan Says:

    Nice job with the shawl!

  7. Bev Love Says:

    I have been a bit shawl/wraptastic too this year. I have knit 12 or 13 shawls, wraps, clapotis or scarves. I was “supposed” to be doing 10 Shawls in 2010 but I never posted to the monthly threads. I cannot block right now so the last couple are still jumbled messes, but off the needles.


Leave a Reply

