More craptastic photos and uninspired text

December 3, 2010

The RNK and I got back a few days ago from a trip to visit my mom for Thanksgiving. Since mom’s birthday is December 7, I took her birthday gift with me: two shawlettes from Romi Hill’s 7 Small Shawls.

I gave her the Maia Shoulderette and Celaeno. If you’ve been reading, you’ve seen pictures of Maia and you’ve heard the trauma that went along with that knit. You haven’t seen Celaeno.

My mom seemed to like Celaeno best. She squirreled both shawls away as soon as she unwrapped them. I wasn’t sure how to interpret that. I had hoped she would put at least one of them out where she could use it when she watches TV. Her television is in a finished basement room and in spite of a gas fireplace near where she sits, it can get cold down there in the winter. Hence the whole idea behind the gift.

I had a hard time getting her to bring the shawls back out so I could photograph Celaeno. I knit this shawl with a skein of “sparkle” yarn and when it was finished, I dyed it black with purple overtones. The pattern calls for beads. There was no way on earth I was going to complete a beaded shawl in time for the trip, so I hoped the sparkles would help add the bling the shawl needed to tie it together with Romi’s design inspiration. Stars. Constellations. To be precise, “the Pleiades, the Seven Sisters of Greek mythology — nymph companions of Artemis turned into stars to save them from Orion’s pursuit.”

(Pardon the pink rug in the background. It’s hard to find anything in my mom’s house that doesn’t have a pink background.)

I also completed a red scarf in brown for the Red Scarf Project. I had hoped to get two done as car knitting; but, made a miscalculation on the amount of yarn needed. Enough yarn for one scarf and only part of a second. I had taken another project with me and I cast it on instead. More about this project after Christmas. After getting started on this project I realized it was a good thing I didn’t try to fit another scarf in anyway or the secret Christmas knitting would never get finished on time.

I wish I had a more inspired post for you, especially since it’s been so many days since I last posted. I am just not feeling the love for anything right now, this in spite of the fact the life is moving along rather smoothly these days. I don’t know what it is. Do you ever feel out of sorts even with things are going well? How do you break the funk-mood?

I wish I could turn this blah mood into inspiration as gifted writers so often are able to do. But no; no gifted writing here. Major suckage instead.

Meanwhile, if you see my muse, send her home. We miss her very much.

2 Responses to “More craptastic photos and uninspired text”

  1. fleegle Says:

    Oh, now. Not suckage. I am suffering from the same problem myself, which is why my blog posts are becoming so sparse.

    Your shawls are lovely and your mother probably hid them away so you wouldn’t take them back.

    And thanks for the kind words about my blog post! Comments are getting sparse for me too, and I am thinking of shutting down the blog not so far in the future.

  2. Chrissie Says:

    As uninspired as this post seemed to you it DID inspire a laugh in my. No other than pink backgrounds in your mom’s house. That’s hilarious. And don’t worry too much about things are going too well. We are so programmed on drama that we feel odd when things are running smoothly. But this is actually our natural state and we are entitled to feel GOOD.


Leave a Reply

