Entering a new era

December 9, 2010

I’ve been thinking a lot about the uninspired writing of the last post and the several posts prior and I’ve decided to change that.

“Ahh grasshopper,” you tell me, “you’ve said that before.”

Yes, this is true. I have said that. And I haven’t followed through because I lacked a plan. Now, after being a little slow on the uptake, I have a plan.

I was inspired this morning when I was taking a 15-minute zen pause with my knitting and I was trying my hardest not to think and, of course, my monkey mind was sneakily causing some very ancient memories to surface.

Surface in the way that little bubbles rise from a leaf slowly decaying on the bottom of a pond. Small bubbles. Occasional bubbles. “Bubbles of little consequence,” the monkey mind said, trying to lull me into the trap of endless thought.

“I know how to deal with bubbles,” my rational mind told the monkey mind. “I vanquish them and let them burst.”

Ever the clever one, inside one of those burst little bubbles, the monkey mind placed the smallest seed of a thought. A seed telling me to look toward the title of my blog, “I knit, I tink, I think.”

“Why,” monkey mind said, “did you call it that? Did you think it was you that thought of such a title?” With a side-bursting peel of laughter, monkey mind told me, “You are not that clever. It was me!”

While the laughter subsided, it occurred to me that yes, indeed, I think as I knit. And the things I think about are random, disconnected, unpredictable, and in spite of it all, interesting. Interesting to me anyway. But, I suspect—if I can muster it—a story well-told would be interesting, perhaps, to one or two of you also.

After something on the order of three years, (I know some bloggers count the numbers of posts and years of posts and celebrate milestones. I on the other hand, have no idea exactly how many posts or how many years, not that it would be hard to find out. But, I’m like that. Lazy. Even when things are easy.) I finally have a purpose for blogging.

Brace yourselves. Here come the monkey mind tales.

And don’t worry. We aren’t going to let rational mind start chatting it up with more uninspired writing. From now on, monkey mind speaks.

Monkey mind using all of her strength to rise above rational mind.
Photo from: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Baby_ginger_monkey.jpg, By Rob from Cambridge, MA (flickr.com) [CC-BY-2.0 (www.creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

2 Responses to “Entering a new era”

  1. Chrissie Says:

    Hooray to that. I like that. Pleased to meet your monkey. I guess my monkey will have a lot of fun reading your monkey’s posts in the future. lololol

  2. Stephanie Says:

    How exciting! I love stories. Personal stories are the reason I read blogs, really, so HURRAY for you telling a few!


Leave a Reply

