I started the second monkey mind tale

January 19, 2011

but then I got slammed with work. Hey, I’m not complaining; just been a little busy with three newsletters this month instead of the usual one. But, I’m on the downhill slide now, so all is good.

Interspersed between newsletters, I rather foolishly threw my name and design idea in the hat in a Koigu contest over at Jimmy Beans Wool. You can read about it here and here.

In a nutshell, the contest was set up like this: those who were interested, submitted design ideas for what they would make with little skeinlettes of Koigu. Bethany over at JBW notified those with the ideas they liked best and sent them the yarn. Yarn in hand, the designers either put together a design or actually knit it and send pictures over to JBW for the final judging.

On January 24th, the photos will be posted on the JBW blog and blog readers will vote for the best design. Then, the winner will receive three full skeins of Koigu. I’m hoping, that the winner gets to choose the color they like best. Seriously. This yarn can be a challenge to mate with the proper design because of the extreme variability of colors within a skein. It is gorgeous. Don’t get me wrong. And lovely to knit with too. But, challenging.

I was a second runner up as a finalist. When the first-chosen did not respond, I was in. Cool I thought. Then the yarn arrived. I received just over 100g in 14 different colorways. I had little hope of ever being able to coordinate all this highly variegated yarn into anything cohesive, much less follow through with the design idea I had submitted: fair isle wristlettes with a lace edge. It’s that lace edge that bit me.

The yarn went way further than I thought it would and I ended up with fingerless mitts. Close enough I think. I’m not too dissatisfied with the final result and really, it didn’t take all that much knitting time once I got started. So, this was my evening relaxation after crazy, long days of design and writing.

I guess they will post all the finished pics from the three contestants on the 24th of January. So, please, head on over and vote for me!

Here are several of the pictures of the finished mitts I sent over to them:

6 Responses to “I started the second monkey mind tale”

  1. fleegle Says:

    Those are incredible! And I have a large bag of sock yarn leftovers πŸ™‚

    Well, given the numbers of comments I received on my last post, I imagined that I heard the sound of hundreds of heads hitting their keyboards in boredom πŸ™‚

    I shall resume, if the positive comments keep up!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    WOW. Ingenious!

  3. Chris Says:

    Totally great. Funny thing is, that my fair isle usually ends up looser than the regular stockinette. With your knitting technique it seems to be the other way round.
    Koigu is a wonderful yarn, but very delicate for socks, although they are great to wear, but I only wear them ever so often to spear them the tear.


  4. Totally great. Funny thing is, that my fair isle usually ends up looser than the regular stockinette. With your knitting technique it seems to be the other way round.Koigu is a wonderful yarn, but very delicate for socks, although they are great to wear, but I only wear them ever so often to spear them the tear.
    +1

  5. Anna Says:

    Wow! Those are “some mitts” the way Wilbur was “Some Pig”!! Now I’ll have to check out JBW’s blog to see if you won, ‘tho I can’t conceive of these mitts being anything other than winners.

  6. Anne Says:

    Your mitts are lovely, so of course I went and voted for you. Hope you win.


Leave a Reply

