A huge thank you

January 31, 2011

for all the support everyone has given me through comments and votes on the fingerless mitts. I did indeed win the JBW contest. I’m very excited about that. I will be writing up the pattern and it will be available sometime soon.

I’ve been meaning to hold a blog contest for a while; but, it seems clear that now is the time to go forward with that as a way of thanking everyone. There are three prizes. You don’t have to do anything special to win — except comment. The winners will be randomly drawn from those who tell me via a comment on today’s post:

What are you knitting now?

And the prizes? First up, the book CowlGirls which I won in a contest on the Classic Elite blog. Here’s a photo of the cover. Cool book. Just not things I would wear, so I will pass it along into the blogiverse.

Second. A skein of yarn dyed by the amazing Kim of Cat Mountain Fiber Arts. Kim has a store in Alamosa; but, I think she will be transitioning to more online sales in the future. She does attend a lot of the major fiber shows, especially ones in Colorado and New Mexico. She had a booth at Sock Summit last year, has gone to Stitches, and is a regular at the Taos Wool Show. Keep an eye out for her if you attend any shows: The Yarn Gallery or Cat Mountain Fiber Arts.

This particular skein is one of my favorites. It’s in the Aster colorway, which includes soft lilacs, yellow and sage greens, with a few other specks of color too. The skein is 100 grams/420 yards and is 63% superwash merino, 20% silk and 2% silver. It has a lovely sparkle to it! I LOVE this yarn. I am offering this particular skein as a way to help give Kim some publicity for the gorgeous dyeing she does. She’s very talented!

Cat Mountain Fiber Arts Aster colorway

fingering weight perfect for shawlettes, socks or scarves.

Third. A skein of Wollmeise. No picture yet. I have three skeins that I could stand to part with. I will allow the winner to decide which of the three suits her/his fancy. I’ll wait to post a picture in case the grab bag I bought last week arrives before the contest ends. Perhaps, there is a colorway there that I could throw into the mix.

So, again, thanks to all of you who offered kind words of support and who took the time to head over to JBW’s blogspot to vote for me. It was quite thrilling to have my design idea validated. Thanks!

Contest details: the drawing will be held on February 8. You must comment on this specific post to enter. I will ship to anywhere including overseas if that’s where the the winner(s) are. The winners will be selected via a random number generator. Only one entry per person, please. Can’t think of anything else. Hope that covers it.

79 Responses to “A huge thank you”

  1. Denise Says:

    Congratulations on your win! You totally deserved it. I’d love to know when your fingerless mitten pattern is available.

  2. catspaw Says:

    Hooray for you! Yours were definitely the best so voting for the mitts was easy! Congratulations on a wonderful pattern.

  3. jakey Says:

    Congrats on your Koigu win!

    What am I knitting now? Uhhhh… Clockwork! And socks for the MIL. And an argyle scarf. And one of those neverending sock yarn blankie things…

    Oops! Can I edit my comment? 🙂
    The socks are the Pink Promise socks in Skinny Bugga! Cotton Stainer, and the argyle scarf is knit with Bugga! in Red Spider Mite and Rhinoceros Beetle (or: Rhino-Mite!).
    The Blankie has a bit of everything, including Wollmeise and Koigu.

  4. Angeluna Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS to you. Your design is charming and deserved the win.

  5. Jade Says:

    At the moment I’m trying to finish knitting my harmony jumper, which I started at the beginning of last year! Hopefully it won’t end up in the WIP pile again 😉

  6. Sidney Wendt Says:

    Congratulations on winning the pattern contest on JBW. They are beautiful!

  7. Deb Says:

    I’m so glad you won the contest. You really deserved this win.

    I’m working on Pinneguri’s Baby Blanket and getting ready for (several) KAL’s. Also finishing a quick baby blanket for a grandniece.

  8. Dyanne Says:

    Congratulations! You definitely deserved it.

  9. vickite Says:

    I’m so glad that you won. Yay!!

    What am I knitting now? A spring leaves shawl and lots of socks. I give my sixth grade girls (4 this year) a pair of hand knit socks to remember me by as they leave me for middle school at the end of the year.

  10. Bonnie Says:

    Congratulations on a much-deserved win!

  11. Jocelyn Says:

    Congrats on winning!

  12. Rhonda Says:

    I am currently knitting a Multnomah shawl for my sister using Wollmeise in Spice Market.

    Your fingerless mittens are gorgeous!

  13. Kathy Says:

    What am I knitting now…

    1. I am participating in the KAL using Trekking yarns and patterns by KnitPurlHunter, Jan was a pair of socks using Susanne which is the color from the ovarian cancer kit. Feb starts tomorrow and will be a fingerless glove.

    2. Socks using Wildfoote, two at a time toe up, pattern by Wendy D Johnson.

    3. Toddler sweater using a pattern I found on Ravelry called Daisy Cardigan using some stash yarn.

    These are the three top contenders with several more laying around.

    Congrats on winning!


  14. I’m knitting a Hypernova with some Lorna’s Laces in my stash. I’m really trying to FINISH a lot of projects before starting any more!

  15. kimberly Says:

    I am so glad that you won! Now, it would be too embarrassing to list everything I am knitting, but here are a few, Henry VIII with Hebridean 3-ply, a pair of legwarmers in Madelintosh Pashmina,St. Ciarin Wrap with Kathmandu Aran, and . . better stop there.

  16. Carolyn Says:

    Congrats on your win! Right now I’m working on a cardigan by Patons. It’s actually called “Cabled Cardigan”. It’s really a sweater coat.

  17. Fiona Kelly Says:

    YAY! I’m so delighted you won; the dog coat was cute but your fingerless gloves were my favourites 🙂

    As for what I’m knitting at the moment; I’m working on 4 future pattern designs.

    #1 Knitting up my samples for some aran weight fingerless mitts to match a hat design I did before Christmas.

    #2,3 & 4 Major swatching for scarf & shawlette designs I’m creating with the aim of making the most of the multi colour effects in Wollmeise.. while also hopefully looking good in semi solids or other brands of yarns too!

  18. Knittingleftie Says:

    Congrats on the gorgeously breathtaking Koigu win …. that was a no brainer.

    I have two Ishbels going; one in Malabrigo sock in colorway Persia (about two days to finish this) and a SG Bugga in the Archy and Mehitabel colorway which I might frog cause I want to do the Peacock shawlette KAL. I don’t know what else is in the huge “semi-hidden” knitting box ….. projects which becoming boring or not coming out right and I am just too damn lazy to tink — do they count?

  19. smrjunior Says:

    Congratulations– you definitely deserved to win the JBW contest!

  20. Michelle (aka rozgirl) Says:

    Congrats on the win! Your design is gorgeous.

    I’m currently knitting brainless socks in WM Bluebell. They are taking longer than I would like, which always seems to be the case with socks!

  21. Stephanie Says:

    Congrats, and thanks for the contest! I’m working on the Twist cardigan from Chicknits and I love it. Maybe it’s the wool. Wool is beautiful. I also started some Knotty or Knice socks recently, but my knitting has dropped again as school has started…

  22. Chris Says:

    What’s on my needles? Are you sure you want to get into that much detail? This question is like a Pandora’s box OK, but right now I am mostly knitting on two scarfs of my own design which I want to publish one fine day and the Hvirvelstroem by Annette Danielsen. Very compelling.
    Oh, btw, if one of my sheeple would happen to enter and win I would gladly volunteer as an overseas carrier. ;-)))

  23. donna Says:

    Congratulations! At the moment I am knitting my dad some socks. They were supposed to be for Christmas! In my defence temps have been 35-42c here recently.

  24. Anna Says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved!!!

    What I’m knitting right now? Well, I would love to knit those mittens that have won the contest….guess I’ll have to wait for the pattern…
    In the meantime I’m working on Poppy Socks and Chunchos (both gorgeous sock designs by Sue Grandfield) and on Ruth Sorensen’s Autumn Cardigan…so that’s a lot of colour work and stranded knitting…

  25. MaryA Says:

    Congratulations on the contest win. Chris forwarded your link and I had to make sure your mitts won the contest – even after losing power with the snowstorm.

  26. Triskaidekaphile Says:

    Congratulations on the win. How generous to do this!

    I’m knitting my first ever socks using Silver’s Sock Class (just turned the heel) using Opal Prisma in plum and white/black stripes in the evenings, Laris’ Miss Sophie’s Hands gloves in Lana Grossa Meilenweit rainbow in the mornings and am just about to start my first test knit. It’s a Newsboy Hat knitted flat. I’m using a discontinued Fyberspates Alpaca/Merino DK I got in a lucky dip. Luckily I’ve found somebody with another ball so I can do the hat for my big head! The colourway is a mixture of purples and lilacs with a bit of fuschia pink thrown in.

    As soon as I have the measurements I’ll be knitting arm and legwarmers for costumes for my nieces to appear in an amateur production of Cats! The Musical. There in an unusual mix of fluffy angora and pure wool with fun fur and eyelash. It’s all go!


  27. Right now I am working on the Sagrantino Shawl as a sample for a yarn company and I am also blogging about how the knitting is going. Thank you so much for this wonderful giveaway!

  28. Jennifer Says:

    congrats on the win!

  29. Kristy Says:

    Currently I am knitting a baby sweater, An AG doll tank top and a sweater coat for my daughter. I also have several crochet projects going! (and lets not talk about my other UFO’s!) Congrats on your win!
    Rav ID: kristyh1981

  30. Heather Says:

    Congratulations on your win. I am currently knitting a cowl. I would be interested in seeing that book.

    lotsofhermies on Rav

  31. Barbara Says:

    Congratulations!! i am currently working on socks. thanks for doing this contest.

  32. Emily Says:

    Your winning mitts are stunning! Thanks for holding this contest with great prizes.

  33. Julia Says:

    Currently working on a cardigan to battle this snowpocalypse I seem to be facing in NY and I’m about to cast on some fingerless mittens.

  34. Nicole Says:

    Congratulations on winning!

    And wow! That’s an awesome give away.

    I’m working on a pair of socks (Aragorn pattern) for my boyfriend. His birthday is coming up next week, and he loves handknitted socks.

    Collienchen @ ravelry

  35. Sara Says:

    Congratulations on your win…that’s very cool – and it must make you very happy…

    nhsarab at yahoo dot com

  36. Kara Says:

    Your fingerless mitts are gorgeous! I’m knitting a pair of convertible mitts right now, but they’re not nearly as fancy – just from a nice variegated red yarn. I started them in November but it’s hard to find time to knit things for myself when I have so many things I need to make for other people! Hopefully I’ll finish them before next winter :-).

  37. Amanda Says:

    Oooh, what fun prizes 🙂
    Congratulations to you and thanks for sharing your excitement by hosting this contest.

  38. Jessy Austin Says:

    Congratulations!!

    Last night I cast on an eyelet yoke sweater for the big sister of the baby who’ll be receiving the newborn pullover I finished yesterday evening! =}

    I am so in love with the colors in the yarn…pick me! =}

    Rav: brighteyesjessy


  39. Congratulations!!! Your mitts were awesome!! A well deserved win, indeedy!!! 🙂 🙂

    Per usual…we have socks on the needles–two pairs are being actively knit, I have another pair that needs to come out of hibernation this spring, the beginning of an Aestlight shawl, and 1 hat that’s almost finished and I’m contemplating casting on for 2 other shawls!! Seems like an unusually light load on the needles…I better get crackin’!! 🙂

    Happy Wednesday!!

  40. Lauren Says:

    Thanks for these prizes! I would love to be entered for any (or all lol) of them!

  41. Mujercita Says:

    What a fantastic giveaway! I can’t believe you’re willing to give away a skein of the fabled Wollmeise, as well as other amazing gifts!

  42. Alexis Says:

    What a great contest! I am currently knitting a hat for my dad, a scarf for my mom, and slippers for my boyfriend! I’ve been in a very giving mood lately 🙂

  43. Lara Says:

    Congratulations on the win!

    Right now I’m knitting a scarf based on the NFY-A gene.

  44. craftink Says:

    I am knitting a hat with fair isle and I am planning to cast on a Multnomah shawl very soon.

    I really hope I will win!

    sophia.komninou at gmail.com

  45. patsy coats Says:

    I’m knitting a baby hat at the moment. Just finished a shawl.

  46. Knittingdancer on Ravelry Says:

    Congratulations on winning on your fingerless mitts pattern on the JBW contest.

  47. Nicole Parker Says:

    Right now, I’m knitting a scarf for my baby sister. 🙂

    rav id: HermioneWeasley

  48. Kristen Says:

    Right now I’m knitting the Pamuya shawl. There are so many gorgeous ones on Ravelry; I hope mine turns out!

  49. Barbara Says:

    Congrats on your pattern winning! I’m currently working on a cardigan, my first (so far) successful sweater 🙂

  50. Maria Says:

    Your mitts are gorgeous! No wonder they won 🙂 Congrats!

  51. jessica Says:

    Congrats on winning the contest! Right now i am knitting a ton of Caps for Good, my goal is 20 of them!

  52. Shoshana Says:

    Right now i’ve got 4 different projects on needle but 2 are on hold as i’ve got presents to urgently finish in the next 2 weeks

    1) Les Abeilles shawlette using a 100% bamboo yarn – splitty city makes for slow going

    2) Scarf of my own design of sorts – i’ve stolen the pattern i was using for blocks on my son’s blanket since its perfect for this man’s scarf in Lion’s Brand Woolease light grey.

  53. Fan-of-Steele Says:

    Congrats on the win! Wollmeise is always a great prize. I’m attempting to make a pooling scarf out of a skein from my stash.

  54. Linette Says:

    Big Congrats on your win!!!
    Just found your blog through Ravelry and am super impressed. Love what you’ve created. My fave I think is the Celaeno – I’ve been looking for a shawlette pattern and I love it.
    And OMG Jakob is so cute!! Love his messy fur coat.
    As for my projects: I am going to crochet a pair of mittens for my 4-year old son out of Rowan’s Silk wool DK.
    And I got myself a hank of Handmaiden Maiden Hair in Stardust for my birthday last week and I am going to make a shawlette out of it.

  55. Melissa Says:

    Congrats! At the moment I am working on Abalone with Gacier del Cielo yarn. It’s my first time working with cotton. I love it!

  56. Stephanie Says:

    Congratulations! Cute mitts. I currently have several projects going, but today have been working on a hat for my aunt who has lost all her hair to chemotherapy.

  57. Renee Anne Says:

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’m jealous of your winnings 🙂 And of your yarn. I covet WM because I have such a hard time getting my hands on it.

  58. knitwork Says:

    Congrats on winning! That must be a great feeling. I am working on a pullover for my husband – it’s chugging along.

  59. OspreySong Says:

    Congratulations on winning that contest!
    As to what I am knitting now. One, a wide 3 colour scarf for myself and two, a black Bernat Buttoned Scarf for my sister.


  60. Congrats on your win 🙂

    I’m knitting quite a few different projects:

    1) two pairs of cabled mittens
    2) a striped scarf
    3) a pair of socks for myself
    4) a pair of gloves for my mom

  61. Judi A. Says:

    Oh do I like your mitts! Not hard to see why you are the winner!:-) Like you, I am not a cowl wearer,at least not the heavy ones in the Cowlgirl book. It’s ususally too warm in AL for one, so if I happen to be one of the lucky winners, would it be possible for me to have some yarn? There’s always a “need” for more yarn! 🙂

  62. helenlam Says:

    Thanks for the giveaway and congratulations!

  63. Eskimimi Says:

    Ooh, I have none of these three thins and have never seen wollemeise yarn, so I am going to enter this great giveaway. Many thanks for posting, and thankyou for keeping this blog. I have only discovered it today but really like it’s tone and layout, so have subscribed to future posts :o)

  64. knittaroo Says:

    Congrats on winning! Way to go!
    I’m currently knitting a pair of mittens (Flora) and a super secret swap item.

  65. Rebekah Pope Says:

    Congratulations on the win!

  66. rainbowscba Says:

    Congratulations on your win, that’s fantastic.
    I am knitting socks at the moment. One pair for myself and then a bunch of baby socks since my sister is pregnant.

  67. oonagh rabenwald Says:

    very pretty yarn!!

    i’m currently working on the pinwheel sweater, with a new take on the lite brite sweater to follow…..and various and sundry other things in the meantime (usually simpler, to keep me sane on car trips)…..
    -oonaghfibersmyth on ravelry

  68. quinn Says:

    Congratulations! And thanks for this great giveaway!

    I am knitting more socks. In malabrigo again – my second pair – using boticelli. Warm! Soft! Socks!!

  69. HelenLR Says:

    Congrats on a great win the the JBW comp. I have many things OTN currently – knitter’s ADHD! A cardigan or two, some socks, two lace shawls. They’re all moving ahead though so that’s good. Planning on more knitting from the stash monster in 2011. It’s sentient now. I suspect it has it’s own Fakebook page…..be afraid!

  70. vickie Says:

    congratulations on your win son wonderful


  71. Awesome! Congratulations! I just finished a shawl-scarf thing, but I still have a pair of socks and a dress on my needles. Though I’m not too enthuiastic about either of those, so I’ll probably start a hat next. Heeheehee.

    zilliah on ravelry

  72. sarah Says:

    sounds like an awesome contest! thanks!

  73. lorraine Says:

    congrats…i love those fingerless gloves!

  74. Jennifer Says:

    Right now I am knitting a Coquiile shawl in malabrigo sock and lace socks in smooshy.

    Congrats on your win!

  75. Danielle Says:

    I am knitting tons of socks! I’m doing a knit along for cookie a’s new book and would sure love to win some sock yarn since I dont have enough in my stash for all the socks ahead!

  76. Alice Says:

    Congrats the pattern you did is adorable.

    rav: aewsimmons

  77. Krissy Says:

    Congrats on your pattern being picked! That is a major accomplishment! Right now I’m working on my challenge for the Nerd War on Ravelry, I’m making an earflap hat with long tassles attached at the top and on the earflaps!

    You can find me on Ravelry as thisiskricky

  78. Jennifer Says:

    Is it too late to enter? This is my first visit, coming from the Rat Terrier group on Rav. I just finished a lap blanket last night.

  79. pencraftco Says:

    I’m sorry, I just finished the drawing! I would have turned off comments, if I knew how.


Leave a Reply

