A drumroll please

February 8, 2011

I used the random.org sequence generator to come up with a table of numbers. Here is the top row:
24 7 58 20 59 8 66 1 60 36

That makes our prize winners:
#24, Anna who is currently working on socks and the Autumn Cardigan. Anna wins Cowlgirls.
#7, Deb, who is knitting baby blankets. Deb wins The Yarn Gallery Aster skein.
#58, Knitwork, who is working on a pullover for her husband. Knitwork will choose one skein of Wollmeise from these three color choices: Saami (variegated primary colors), ein klien wenig verrucht (almost solid deep purple) or Sabrina (almost solid emerald green).

I sure hope one of these three strikes Knitwork’s fancy!

The colors on the Saami and the ein klein wenig verrucht are pretty true (at least on my monitor). The Sabrina is much less of a teal color and more emerald. Both the purple and green skeins have much more depth in person than appears on the monitor.

Winners, please check your email and let me know where to send your prize.

Thanks to everyone for your fantastic support of my fingerless mitts. I will be posting the pattern next week or the week after. I will also send it off to JBW. It won’t be thoroughly test knitted. Sorry about that. I got distracted. You know, shiny things.

I got the prize from JBW in the mail yesterday: 3 skeins of Koigu. Unfortunately, the color chosen for me was P806: brilliant pink and bright purple. Koigu is dyed on a wonderful yarn base that is pleasant to knit with and feels very nice. However, the bilious bubblegum pink and purple in this colorway doesn’t do a thing for me. I was shocked when I opened the package — to my way of thinking, this yarn is nothing but ugly. Butt ugly.

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful. I mean really, I am pleased to have won. JBW sent me yarn. How cool is that? If I was seven years old and into frilly girl things, this color would probably be perfect. It’s just that, well, I’m a little past seven and I’m over my neon pink phase. Totally.

If I would have seen this color to begin with I wouldn’t have even bothered to submit an idea for a design in the JBW contest, and, quite frankly, I’m not sure anyone else would have either. Quite a letdown.

Maybe someone out there will want to trade or buy or use it or . . . any ideas? Or am I just being overly optimistic?

6 Responses to “A drumroll please”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Sorry you were dissapointed.

    I think you should knit up something for a lucky little girl. My seven year old would think she was in heaven if someone gave her pretties knit out of that yarn!

  2. knitwork Says:

    I can’t believe I won. How cool is that! Thanks for making my day, Ruth!

  3. Chris Says:

    Oh dear, that’s really not your yarn. I might be under 7 though and willing to swap if you haven’t found anybody else yet. ;-))))

  4. Stephanie Says:

    I like to knit in outrageous colors, but my outrageous colors are closer to the orange spectrum. Pink. Ick. Such a controversial color – I’d have thought they’d send something much more neutral. So weird.

  5. pencraftco Says:

    Hi Stephanie, I told my mom about the yarn and her comment was, “But you HATE pink!” According to her, I didn’t even like pink when I was little bitty. Although, many of my friends say that their little girls are naturally drawn to the color.

    I’m with you, orange might have been OK! LOL

    Anyway, It’s been traded off so all is good. 🙂

    Ruth

    > >

  6. kimberly Says:

    Darn – that color is pretty icky. My niece who is 8 would like it though.


Leave a Reply

