I am repentant

February 19, 2011

It was pointed out to me by a few kind readers that the JBW contest award skeins of Koigu in pink are indeed perfect for not only the five, six and seven-year-old girls in my life (and I should knit something for them); but, it is also appropriate for several of the 40-something-year-old girlfriends in my life (and I should knit something for them). Alas, I have no five, six or seven-year-old girls in my life.

Apparently, the 40-something age group has slow reflexes. Before anyone could convince me to knit something for them, I had already received an offer to trade from one of the contest winners!

Furthermore, I just stumbled across this interesting post on Knit Buddies about the color of the year.

None-the-less, the pink left the building. It winged its way to the winner of Kim’s yarn, who has a six-year-old granddaughter. In return, I got some lovely purple Koigu. No muted tones for me!

I am happy to report that finally, I finished Mendocino. I look like a cow in it. But hey, you can’t have everything. It is warm, it’s comfortable and it fits. It’s just that the heavily textured cable patterns on the tits and back add a little girth in a most unflattering way. This is one of those knits that would look great on a flat-chested twig of a girl. Wouldn’t they all?

Let me point out that the color is off in all but the very last picture. I did not knit a pink sweater. Let me be very, very clear about that. And no, I am not happy having my picture taken. Ever.

I also finished a second Spiralucious exactly like the one I gave Chris last fall. Another one, just like the other one. Well, two rows short of the last full pattern repeat before I started the edging because I would have run out of yarn otherwise.

Here’s what the other one looked like:

Ok, sorry, bad joke that no one got except for me. That’s the same one photographed twice. But really, it is exactly what the other one looked like.

Later, dudes.

3 Responses to “I am repentant”

  1. Chris Says:

    Hahaha, what a good joke to round this post of with pink looking pics of a sweater. I think it’s lovely even though – are may exactly because – you got breasts. I never understood why they use to show clothes on women who are so thin. But it’s more mind boggling, that it affects our brains that much. Even brains who know how photoshop works and thus should know that hardly any of these magazine pictures show the real thing. ;-))) The only thing that might be wrong with the picture of you in the sweater is that you don’t look comfortable having your picture taken. I think it’s hard work shooting people in a way that makes them look natural. I think it’s a real nice sweater and it does look good on you.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    I was also really surprised by the pink sweater. 🙂 I am the last person in the world to be a fan of pink, so I really agreed with you about the pink Koigu. I’m glad you were able to do a trade!

  3. kimberly Says:

    Mendocino came out beautifully,and you don’t look like a cow in it! Love the cowl too!


Leave a Reply

